top of page

Tie Dye!

Hello everyone! Today we have Arunima, who likes doing tie-dye. Here is her journey. N: How did you start developing an interest in Tie-Dye? A: One day I was looking for types of arts I could have interest in, so there were a lot of arts like watercolour, acrylic and other stuff which I already knew and did not want to wok on them again. I found one image that told how to dye clothes, and I found it very interesting as I wanted to do something challenging. In Tie-Dye, It's not very easy to dye, when I make a mistake the cloth get spoilt and wasted, so It's not easy at all. N: What was the first time you thought ‘This is what I want to do’! A: I wanted to have an art account, so I thought I could start doing Tie-Dye and upload lots of my work on Social Media which is already happening. N: What were your success and failures? A: When I got orders I was able to make it look perfect and all, but when I tried making for myself, most of the time it used to turn out bad and not in good shape. So to get a perfect t-shirt for myself, I decided to keep practising on a small cloth and find out why I was unable to do it. But I found nothing, but still, I need more practice so I do not face this same issue. Recently, I am unable to work on Tie-Dye because of the Corona-virus outbreak. I am unable to find any white cloth or light colour cloth. I am unable to resume my Tie-Dye until this virus settles down. N: What are the different types of tie-dye styles? A: So, there are many styles of Tie-Dye, I am telling you some of my favourite ones. 1. crumble 2. swirl 3. natural (not a style, a way to dye) 4. shibori 5. Ice Dye I now am not into these stuff of Tie-Dye, I have done a lot of basic ones so now I want to start working on some modern designs


N: Thank you, Arunima.




10 views
bottom of page