top of page

The Lunch Hour.

I never heard her sitting or talking in the corridor. I always saw her, quietly sitting with her posture straight and reading books. Maybe she was new. I thought she would be the smart kid or in my language nerd.


I saw her outside the class on the first day, she grabbed her lunch and disappeared into thin air. For the next few days I follow her, I know following someone is wrong but I was blinded with curiosity.


I saw three girls approaching (these were the bullies), first I thought it was me and then they changed the direction towards the girl. It was 10 minutes to lunch and the girls approaching snatched the girl's lunch. I was petrified but angry at the same time. As they walked away I heard heavy sobbing in the washroom.


I reached the washroom to find out what exactly happened. I heard the girl sobbing and then she gives me a look. There was absolute silence for a minute and then she finally spoke. She said that I should not have come here and told me that she always is hungry during lunch breaks. At this point I felt goosebumps in my hand, I felt pity for her.


As soon as I was done comforting her and giving her my share of the food. I went to my teachers and told them the whole situation. I also told the girl that she can have lunch with us and no one would mind. The girl gave a smile. I never saw her do that, she was always with this blank face.


It was great helping someone. It contributed to the way she is now. Everyone wants a friend like her and yes I forgot the most important part her name is Nat.



26 views

Recent Posts

See All

Error That Ended Up Well.

The room was scattered with plane papers and printouts. Jassie had to wake up to find her glasses. She quickly got ready and picked up her beige bag. Jassie was always in a rush. She ran across her ro

Noisy noise.

I usually imagine myself in a calm place, sipping my coffee on a windy morning. You may think that can be possible but no, I live in Mumbai. People often call it the city of dreams but my dream was no

bottom of page